Thursday, November 4, 2010

Oh, Say Can You See by L.C. Lewis


Don't you just love the cover! I think I want fireworks on my book cover...though I guess technically these are "rockets red glare" and "bombs bursting in air."

Here's the backcover blurb:

Although the British raids have left Washington a devastated, blackened city, the battered Constitution has held and the presidency has survived! But the struggling government has no home. The British saw to that.

Gone is the Capitol and her magnificent library, the chambers of the Supreme Court, the President’s House, and every relic and document not secreted out of the city.

Next on the list of British prizes—the rebellious port city of Baltimore! A victory here would assure the Americans’ defeat, but a loss would dilute the importance of the destruction of Washington.

But has the raid on Washington stiffened the backs of the Americans? This is the question gnawing at the leaders on both sides.

The Willows women are mourning their absent men—gone to war, or wounded, or captured—as they await the birth of a blessed child.

Mere miles away, attorney Francis Scott Key embarks on a diplomatic mission that will leave an everlasting mark on America. Proving that a pen can be more powerful than a sword, Key records his fears and hopes—the fears and hopes of his embattled people—as he watches the bombardment of Baltimore while detained in the midst of the British fleet.

What changed in this noble man’s pacifist heart, empowering him to pen the powerful anthem, known today as “The Star Spangled Banner,” an epic poem that rallied a shattered nation to rise from its knees to claim the dream of “one nation under God?”

Experience the personal sacrifice of five families placed in the firestorm of the War of 1812, citizen heirs of the sacrifice of the Founding Fathers.

The first three books in the series are:
Volume 1, DARK SKY at DAWN, introduces the complex story of the six lead families--three American, two British, one slave--and the devastating prelude to the war.
Volume 2, TWILIGHT'S LAST GLEAMING, carries readers into the harrowing events at Hampton, Virginia, and illustrates the toll the war takes on civilians--women and children. But through it all, a new tenacity begins to strengthen the young nation's spine as Americans rally to the cause of their nation.
Volume 3, DAWN'S EARLY LIGHT, throws our characters into the attack on Washington and the events that prove the mettle of the the Constitution and the Presidency.

Written under the name Laurie Lewis, the author's most recent release was in April—a women’s novel titled, “Awakening Avery,” which is currently nominated for a Whitney Award. (


Joan Sowards said...

It sounds like a great book. It has an impressive cover, too.

Tina Scott, the writing artist said...

Thanks for sharing this.

Glynis said...

Sounds a powerful read. As a Brit, it peaks my interest. Thanks for the information. :)

Tamara Hart Heiner said...

oo, that sounds like an awesome book. I used to love historical fiction.


Related Posts with Thumbnails